I don’t know that I’ve ever been so excited to begin a book in my life as I’ve been while I waited for the perfect time to curl up in bed and not come out until I finished The Bread of Angels.  Some background on my relationship with the book will come later in the form of an open letter, but for now, I will tell an abbreviated version.

My mother frequently cuts things out of papers and magazines for me to read.  Usually, due to apathy and laziness, I don’t read most of them, but rather skim them and look interested in the sometimes stupid things people report on.  Way back in February of this year, my mother handed me something and I looked at it and put it down.  For a few hours, she asked me if I’d read it, and insisted that I needed to, though she would not tell me why.  Finally, I read the article.  I finished it with tears in my eyes and kept it, rereading it and embracing it with longing.  Read it here: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/21/fashion/21love.html?_r=1&pagewanted=all# Trust me, it’s so worth it.  Anyway, while I saved the article, I somehow managed to miss that it was part of a greater work, the authors’ memoir.  Late in August, after a summer of feeling conflicted, exhausted, and at war with the creative forces of the universe (I’m incredibly concerned that I’m contaminating my book), I ordered the book and tracked it obsessively.  As I did this, I pondered about my own future and health, and tried to decide if there was a way to justify hanging the article on my newly painted walls.

After a 12 hour fast, and a far-longer-than-necessary drive to go get blood work done this morning, I took care of my educational responsibilities and put on pajamas and read a significant portion of the book.  A little over halfway through, I had to stop to take a nap (it’s amazing how tired you get after 18 vials of blood are taken from your body.  I was surprised I even had 18 vials worth of blood…) but I plan to finish the book this evening.  A review will follow when I’ve finished, but if the spirit moves you to read this amazing story, I’d absolutely recommend it.  Buy it here!  http://www.randomhouse.com/catalog/display.pperl?isbn=9780385522007&view=rg It even comes with a reading guide for discussion groups!

