Today was my first day commuting to school.  Today was also the day of my Philosophy midterm that I needed to do well on, but didn’t study for over the weekend because I was moving home.  Today is also the start of NaNoWriMo, which I’d planned to do, but then decided I couldn’t do unless I’d finished TRTL by Halloween’s end.  I didn’t finish TRTL for a long and frustrating list of reasons, but I decided to try NaNo anyway.  Partly, because I need to stay creative.  Partly, because I was so excited to write Cherry Loves Murder that I didn’t want to put it off again.  And partly because I have the time.  I can’t not try, right?  Part of me likes a huge challenge, and I can’t make things too easy for myself.

One of my concerns every time I step away from TRTL is whether or not I’ll be able to get the voice back when I come back.  I don’t want things to feel different.  Another concern of mine has been that I haven’t written anything big and creative since I started TRTL.  I just wasn’t sure if I could go off and do something else and then come back to it without it adversely affecting things.  We’ll see.  I figured that I could try writing a little each day for NaNo and a little TRTL, too.  This should force me to be school-productive and may even result in novel progress on two fronts!  The idea is quite appealing, though I’ve always had mixed feelings about finishing TRTL.

I wrote the ending about a year ago, in a class.  When I looked down at my notebook and realized that what I’d just written was the end, I felt a combination of things.  I felt tears welling up in my eyes, and a deep sadness that one day it was going to be over, and a surge of happiness bordering on relief.  One day, it would be finished, and then it would be shared.  One day, it might touch someone.  I’ve felt since the end of the summer that completion is close.  I’m still not sure how I feel about it.  My characters aren’t happy with the idea that one day their story is going to be finished.

Roger thinks that the weight of the allegory has become too much for them and that’s why they’re slowing down.  I think they just don’t want to be done.  I understand.  As a writer, I’m excited for the next thing on the horizon.  For other books, and other worlds.  Cherry is a total switch of gears, it’s the novel that I started to research 2 years ago, but then I wrote TRTL instead.  It’s nice to come back to it, and it’s much more solidified and much better now than the ideas I had a few years ago.  It’s going to be a challenge after living in allegory land for the last 2 years.  I think I’m up for the challenge.  After all, I have to come up with inspiration and energy for the next A Greater Story!

