The more I try to really live life, the more I find that there are very few things that compare to the thrill of writing.  And I’m not talking the slow, frustrating but rewarding progress type process.  I’m talking about the way I feel when I’m writing and every word flows and each word just appears like magic and everything is pretty and lovely and I feel like that’s what I’m supposed to be doing with my life.

I haven’t found anything that could possibly replace that feeling.  It probably helps that I have some pretty amazing characters that I love talking to.  But last night I had this horrible allergic reaction to birthday dinner and I couldn’t fall asleep and I kept waking up and I was feeling like shit and crying in bed and I got an idea and I wrote it on my cellphone.  (Cellphone writing late at night is a rather common occurrence.  As is traffic cellphone writing.)  Each word just happened.  I love it when writing feels like that because it doesn’t feel like I’m the one who’s writing.  The pieces that just happen and that just work are always the most special ones.  Something about them just feels different and wonderful.

I’m hoping to do some hardcore writing today.  I’m not sure what I’ll be working on, but it’s a beautiful day, it’s my birthday and I’m at my favorite place in the world.  Now, I just have to let go of the semester and the damage it’s caused and do my thing.

