Somehow, a discussion of grad school and networking came up. I mentioned that I’d had an offer to be introduced to a very talented, well-regarded and well known author and editor when I (or my book) was ready. My uncle’s girlfriend, who I do not have charitable things to say about, asked if it was my Star Trek book. It had been quite a long time since I’d thought about that. I worked on that when I was very young and thought that I could make it to the big leagues and be a movie star because I was writing this great series of Fanfics that would of course be made into a new Star Trek series. Needless to say, my crazy dreams now no longer occupy this thought train.

It had been so long since I’d thought about that baby. If anything, it was a Mary Sue uber-fanfic. If you are unfamiliar with the term, there will, undoubtedly be a rant/explanation of Mary Sue at some point in the not-too-distant future. Indeed, it combined two huge things that you aren’t supposed to do. But I learned a lot in spite of knowing nothing.

This is what I mean when I say that I got my start in the Sci-Fi Fandom.

I had to stop and wonder, though, is she really that out of touch that she thinks that I’ve been working on that for the past however-many-years? Jeezzzz. I also briefly wondered if she was going to decide that she was going to be a published and successful author again and ask me to hook her up. Thank goodness, she didn’t, but I was very concerned about it while I was story telling about funtimes with the MFA peeps.

