The title of this post takes its name from a lyric to “In My Head” by Anna Nalick.

But! Onto (minor) victories. I got the outstanding draft of my novel back (well, a certain distinguished professor had read a draft or two, but I’m not worried about him- he probably disposed of the draft(s).). It was nerve racking and sad, but it’s done.

I thought it would produce an emotional response in me. I thought I would feel something. Relief, anger, sadness, happiness. It didn’t so much matter what it was, but that there would be some kind of reaction. I was just tired. And a little sad, but more over the confrontation. I wished I could have believed the reasons why, and believed that she sympathized. I wish I could believe that she really wanted to read it and was really going to, but it’s been so long…

Anyway, I have a TON of coursework to do, and a presentation to give tomorrow night, so writing will have to go on the back burner for now. C’est la vie. That’s why they make tequila. In just over 2 weeks, I will be done with Undergrad and I will have the summer to write and heal and get over it. Until then, I have work and the knowledge that soon, none of this will matter anymore. Amen.

