This book is an absolute favorite of mine for several reasons. One being that I feel that I owe it and Starhawk a huge and unpayable debt of gratitude. This was part of my introduction to ecopoetics, permaculture and ecofeminism, and I didn’t know at the time just how greatly these forces would shape my life. My first novel (though there is a long and complicated backstory there) is an ecopoetic work. It’s sort of a strange cross (or maybe not so strange) between The Chronicles of Narnia and The Fifth Sacred Thing.

Reading The Fifth Sacred Thing literally brings tears to my eyes because it is so beautiful and so powerful. Sometimes, stories touch your soul and hold onto you and don’t let you go. You lose yourself in the story and the story in yourself. These are the best, most beautiful and most dangerous stories that can be released into the world. They must be written. I hope that, in its own strange way, my book can and will live up to just a fraction of the reputations of the books that have so inspired it and me.

Starhawk’s vision is incredible. Her characters are real. I feel as though I know them intimately. The writing is forceful and gentle. The book is sweet, perfect temptation.

This doesn’t much tell you about the plot of the book, I know, and I hope that you can forgive me for that. The Fifth Sacred Thing is long, and very much happens, and to tell you even superficially some details of the overall plot would be to do you a disservice. It must be discovered on its own as you go along. If there is one thing that you could ever possibly listen to me about, let it be this: You must read The Fifth Sacred Thing.

