Taking a cue from http://navigatingtheslushpile.blogspot.com/2011/07/comfort-books.html, I’ve been thinking about my favorite comfort books, the books that I reread or keep around as talismans when I’m not feeling well or am feeling uncertain.

My two traveling books are my The Chronicles of Narnia omnibus and The Fifth Sacred Thing (Starhawk), but I definitely have other comfort books, right?

I have a huge library, and a good most of it is Star Trek. Just knowing that they’re there makes me feel a little safer and more secure. Isn’t it funny how a book can do that?

Knowing that I have lots of books, and that I could probably read only what’s in my library now for the rest of my life and not be done makes me feel better.

I don’t know that I’ll ever stop rereading Narnia– there are 5 different forms of the books of Narnia in my house, plus several versions of the movies. The movies are frequently rewatched by myself, and especially when I’m sick.

So, what are your comfort books?

