Not tonight.

But, lately, I’ve found myself thinking about my writing a lot.  It’s a poor substitute for actually writing, but I haven’t had time for much of anything that isn’t an assignment or a procrastination technique.

We’ve arrived at the point in my novel where my characters love everyone and anyone who isn’t me, and they hate me.  I try to write, and they won’t have any of it.  Roger reads the novel and says that some things should be changed and they move (figurative) heaven and earth and unfold things I didn’t even know existed and 3 new scenes happen just like that.

In the absence of much real writing, I’ve turned back to nitpicking and word choices and fixing inconsistencies.

As I was writing tonight, my mind turned back to 3: one is a timeline that is in dire need of fixing, one is an inescapable and horrible term that needs to be replaced with something new, and the most important is that in the very beginning, Dama told Elliott that he would visit El’s world 3 times in its lifetime.  I had originally assumed that Dama would be a MAJOR non-MC.  I mean, Dama’s God, so obviously he’s gonna be involved, but I thought he would be a little more hands-off.  I have to tell you, I have never been happier to have been wrong in my assumptions about a character.  Dama is SO involved (so I have to rewrite that bit).  I can’t imagine the story would be appealing at all to anyone if Dama was furniture, so to speak.  Dama is so dynamic and so involved, that (pardon the cliche), TTOT without Dama would be like a rainbow missing, I don’t know, green?  In the last scene I wrote (it was sort of a rewrite), Dama told Elliott something serious in his thoughts, and then when Elliott looked up at Dama, Dama was serious and playful.  I’m not sure if he’s serious being playful trying to be serious or if he’s being playfully serious, but both El and I got quite the laugh out of it.

I’m glad to be back in the fantasy mode.  I really miss my gang when I’m away from them for too long, and there’s only so much reality that I can take before I’m itching to get back to my own imagination.  I love my other characters, but I like that not everything is serious all the time in TTOT, and I like that I don’t have to do research to write convincingly (I currently have a really bad case of the lazy writer).

I think I have parent guilt when it comes to my novels…

