At any given point in time, I have 3 sets of novel characters running around (and sometimes shouting) in my head.

I suppose that this is preparation for motherhood, because I always feel guilty, and I always feel like I’m not spending enough time with each novel.

I’ve been spending time with El and the gang from TTOT, partly because they’re talking and are not still on strike (that’s sort of a long and unrelated story), and partly because Desert Blues is getting workshopped in my novel class on Thursday.

As we approach the beginning of the end (possibly) with TTOT, I’ve been happy to spend time with them and make heavy duty progress.  I also love those characters, and consequently, I love spending time with them.

Tonight, after class, I stopped off and had dinner with El and the gang.  It was glorious.  I need to try to make a point of dining with my characters more regularly.

NaNoWriMo starts today, and I’m sad that I’m not participating, but I don’t have the time or the inspiration to work on another book, and last year’s was kind of a hot mess, or really if I’m honest with myself, I have to admit that it was total shit, and if/when (though I’m pretty sure this is a when) I return to that story, it’s going to involve me throwing everything away and starting over from scratch.  So while I’m sad, I’ve sort of accepted that this is what is best for my sanity, my creativity, my output and my other sets of difficult and jealous characters, which makes me feel a little better.

In other news, I submitted an essay that I wrote on living with Celiac to my college magazine/publication.  Exciting-ness.  And!  A new category for my blog for Desert Blues!

