As a writer, I think it’s important to continually be challenging myself, moving out of my comfort zone and putting myself out of my element.  New experiences are writerly gold, because it brings new things out in you and you have more material to draw on while you’re putting your butt in your chair and actually working.

So, knowing this, I’ve been working my ass off to get myself on a study abroad to Kenya (this is VERY out of my element, and I couldn’t be more excited about it- it’ll be a great experience!), where I’ll be studying poetry (eeps! That’s the comfort zone part), specifically, honoring the local oral traditions and the natural world, I’ll be studying the sounds of poetry, the sounds that poems make and such.  It will be a horizon broadening trip, indeed.  It’s also going to be the first time that I leave the country!  Yippee!!!  Yes, most people go to Vancouver or London on their first time out, where there are no language barriers, but in case you hadn’t noticed, I always jump into things with both feet (or head first) rather than ease into things, and in the cases of writing, usually without any idea of what I’m getting myself into.

In the meantime, I have to get through the last week of the semester, and all of the work that needs to be finished before then.  I also have a birthday that is rapidly approaching, and that I’m not ready for.  And let’s not even talk about Christmas.  Super not ready for that yet.

