I’ve been needing a swift kick in the ass to get writing lately.

Some of it is The January Slump.  I’m very accustomed to not writing (or doing much of anything) in between semesters, because semesters are so intense that I just sort of shut down for a bit, and write when something demands writing.

This January, however, I have to finish my thesis.  I’m a little bored with it, and it feels like work, and I’m overwhelmed by the amount of work that still needs to be done.  I’m trying not to look at this as a marathon, but as a little footrace, but it’s hard.  I’m tired.  Mostly, I just don’t want to deal with it now.

But today, I did more work on it.  My characters surprise me…  Even just in things that I’d written and forgotten about.  They’re pretty terrific.  I can do this.

