It’s been so long since I’ve been on here! If I thought any of you were still reading, I’d apologize. C’est la vie.

Anyway, I blogged about being in Hawaii at a tumblr I set up specifically for that (anjelicablogshawaii.tumblr.com), but I’ve been back in New York since the week before Christmas. At first, It was just a Christmas visit/going to the doctors for a tune up, but it ended up being four months (so far) of intense intravenous treatment for lupus and inflammation–I was on leukemia watch for three months–and dealing with constant and agonizing pain, which nothing has taken the edge off of.

In the real thick of it, I wasn’t really able to write. Actually, on the whole, this year has been the least productive writing year I’ve had in a while. In Hawaii, there was so much going on that writing was difficult for me, and then being sick and exhausted and in pain all the time for the last month or so that I was there, and then being in New York with all of the above plus doctors visits and cold shock, my life hasn’t been conducive to writing much. But I am writing again. My memoir about living with chronic illness is close to done. I’ve written some essay-like things about chronic illness, as well. I’ve read John Green’s The Fault in our Stars ten times, and have listened to it as an audio book three times. I’ve read some other books as well, but I haven’t been able to “get over” TFioS.

I finally went to PF Chang’s, and I entirely understand why every celiac who has ever gone has become obsessed. It’s so good. I’ve eaten A LOT of Chipotle. I’ve seen friends. I’ve tried to act like a person in her twenties while I’ve waited to see what the new normal is… For now, life’s another transition and another life change.

My goal for this blog moving forward! I’ve been inspired by the community of writers I’ve met through my MFA and through The Children’s Book Hub, and so I’d like to move into a place where there’s a regular schedule of content on this blog. I had a schedule figured out, but I think I want to tweak it a bit more. But my goal is to have posts on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturday or Sunday (and maybe both in the future). Each day will have a theme (I have a couple of friends who participate in Perfect Picture Book Fridays–Susannah has a great list of PBs for reference–and I think it’s sweet, so I’m hoping to incorporate regular book reviews into this blog: they just won’t be picture books.)

And of course, I will be screaming from the top of this blog when my memoir is finished, and I’m sure there’ll be lots of spam, for which I will now issue a blanket apology. I apologize for any and all spamming both now and in future, as well as any alarm or distress that might be caused by my shrieking to the sun and the moon about having finished writing my memoir.

See you soon!

A

