When I was taking a workshop in Novel during my MFA, my professor said that I use the word “thing” too frequently. It wasn’t just the word ‘thing’, it was ‘anything’, ‘everything’, ‘something’…

I say thing instead of shit and I call everything shit.

Anyway, in the last few months, I have launched an Etsy shop, had my room flood, had to throw out more than half of my belongings and furniture, dealt with unexplained and worsening symptoms, written a few memoir sections, and written my first fiction chapter in almost a year. It’s been quite busy!

I have really poured myself into my Etsy shop, and it has been a wonderfully creative time. I am so proud of the products I am offering for sale, and I can’t tell you, after this past year, how wonderful the opportunity of creating and of being creative without pressure has been. This is an opportunity that I have cherished and am cherishing. It makes me feel like I am still a person who has something to contribute to the world, and it allows me to feel productive during the many days when I am simply too sick to write.

Making prayer beads is something that I have done for myself (and sometimes as gifts) for about five years now. I am perpetually marveling at how no experience is ever wasted; a sentiment we heard frequently in the anti-thing class. It’s true. I hope that you will check out my shop, and follow it on social media. I hope that you will share it with your friends. I hope that it will be a blessing to you. I hope that one day soon, my writing will be, too.

