I don’t know that I’m ever going to know how to put this into words… But here goes.

On the first Sunday in October, I went out for drinks and girl talk with a friend from Grad School. I pulled out my phone to read something that she’d just posted on Facebook, and the first post at the top of my feed when the app opened was a post from the Brother-in-Charge of Little Portion. A place that I’ve been going to on and off my whole life. A place that I love. A place that is a home away from home. A place that still feels like my anchor and my lighthouse, even though I don’t go often anymore. A place that the Order has decided to sell.

I am shocked, saddened, angry, empty… I really don’t know how to feel. It all feels vaguely reminiscent of when a newspaper announced that Southampton was being closed. I can’t imagine living in a world where Little Portion, my favorite place forever, no longer exists.

