Some of you may not know that I began writing seriously as a pre-teen and teenager in the science fiction fandoms. I’d always enjoyed writing, and had been writing on and off since I was a child, but when I was forced to stop dancing, Fanfiction was my first community, and the place where I first found my voice as a writer.

To this day, the fandoms are a big part of my life. I have mostly enjoyed the fandom experience, and when I am having problems with my writing, or when I have found a book or a movie that’s touched me deeply, my first instinct is to check to see if there is a fanfiction community.

Lately, I’ve been reading all of the stories of a particular writer, who mostly writes Janeway and Chakotay fanfiction.

I love fanfiction, and I can’t imagine what my life would be like if I had not discovered it as a young person.

Do you read fanfiction?

