I grew up watching Star Trek: The Next Generation and Star Trek: Deep Space Nine with my mom. I remember being a small child, and my mom telling me that there was going to be a new Star Trek, but not just any Star Trek. Star Trek: Voyager was going to have a female captain.

I was ecstatic.

We looked forward to the premiere for what felt like an eternity.

I remember sitting glued to the downstairs TV during Caretaker, the pilot episode on UPN 9.

I have always loved Voyager. Voyager is the reason that I discovered fanfic, which everyone knows was a *huge* part of my adolescence, and one of the biggest factors in my becoming a writer.

I began a complete Voyager rewatch about a month ago, after I had major J/C (my first OTP) feels over on tumblr. It’s been one of the best decisions I’ve made in recent years, though my schedule has gotten substantially busier recently, so I have not been able to binge watch the way I was even two to three weeks ago.

Here’s to you, my childhood hero, Captain Kathryn Janeway of the Federation Starship Voyager. You taught me to be strong.

