Photo on 2-23-15 at 3.05 PM

A while back, I bought a SpiritHood. (you can read my post about my first hood here)

As some of you may know, I suffer from three forms of autoimmune disease, and two of my diseases cause hair loss. Since I’ve been living with hair loss, as well as temperature regulation problems, I was looking for a way to have fun while still keeping my head warm. I have a number of hoods now (wolves, coyote, and a lion[!!!!!]) and they’re a great way to stay warm while also staying wild.

The community of SpiritHoods wearers is a dynamic, supportive, and fun community, and they’re very creative, too! I discovered that the company used to sell feather charms for the ears of the hoods (there’s a little tag on the ear so that you can attach a feather), but that they don’t anymore. I was bummed! But the first person in the Tribe (SpiritHoods fans are called the Tribe because we’re all animals) to follow me on Instagram said that she could make me a charm. I was so excited!

The envelope arrived on my birthday completely torn up, and with no charm inside. I got in touch with her and she said that she’d make me another charm and send it to me, and then showed me a picture of this charm, which has a butterfly perler. Butterflies are a symbol of lupus, and they’re beautiful! This charm arrived safe and sound, but I didn’t get a chance to put it on one of my hoods and wear it because my lovely Zoey Makana girl was not enthused about my Spirithoods! I’m just starting to wear them again, and she’s starting to be convinced that I’m not an intruder and that they’re not animals invading her territory!

I can’t wait to get a few other charms for my other hoods!

If you’d like to join the Tribe, get in touch with me so that I can give you a code that will save you $15 on your very own hood!

