It may be because we’re in the height of winter, and because it feels like it’s never going to stop snowing… But I’m in love with tea. I know I’ve written about being in love with tea before on Favorites Mondays, but it’s just so good that I have to keep writing about it.

I love strong teas. And I love a good green tea; if it tastes like dirt, I’ll probably want to weep with joy at how good it is. But I also love black teas. And drinking a very large mug of black tea at 5 in the evening is not generally a good plan if one wants to sleep later that night. This is where Irish Afternoon Tea comes in!

I like visiting Irish stores and learning about Ireland. In college, I took a class on Irish History, and it was fascinating. My father is English/Irish, and because he was so sick for most of my childhood, I never learned a lot about my heritage on his side. My mom’s father is a total Anglophile, which he passed on to my mom and my uncle, so I know a good deal about England, but not never really knew much about Irish culture beyond the claddagh ring, and the propensity towards alcoholism. But as an adult, I’ve tried to connect more with my Irish heritage. One way of doing that: Irish tea. I have three varieties: two morning teas (presumably with differing amounts of caffeine) and an afternoon tea (which, if it doesn’t have a lower amount of caffeine, has not yet proven problematic, so maybe if I don’t think about it, I’ll be okay…). One thing that I like about the afternoon tea is that it has all the same bite as the morning tea. Too often, decaffeinated coffees and teas taste as though the life has been sucked out of them.

Let’s have a cuppa, shall we?

