Now that we’re solidly into Lent, I’m slightly more on track.

It always takes me by surprise.

Lent is one of my favorite seasons of the church year. The preparation and the waiting always seems much more important than it is given credit for.

Which is not to say that I’m ever prepared for Advent or Lent. I would be lying if I said that I was ever ready for the periods of waiting.

This past Advent, I used the Blessed Is She Advent Journal with many of the past alums from my Episcopal Service Corps site, Camp Mokule’ia, as well as all of the current interns and several staff members. It was so precious to me to know that even though I wasn’t speaking regularly to them that I was sharing those moments of preparation with them. During my time in Hawai’i, I grew very close to many of these people, and I will probably always consider them to be ohana.

When Blessed Is She announced their Lenten Journal, I bought it immediately. I’d tweeted them a few times, asking if they would make a year-round journal, so I am hopeful that there will be a liturgical year journal coming soon.

I’m old enough now to admit that I need help with my spiritual life: I need to make it easier and more accountable than it has been in many years.

