I love the documentary First Position.

I’ve seen it a number of times. It’s a ballet documentary, but not one that sugarcoats the ballet world, or what happens when you’re in a ballet career. The dancers that are featured are all young: the oldest is preparing to enter the ballet world and is looking for a job. First Position focuses on the Youth America Grand Prix, a prestigious, and highly competitive, ballet competition.

The dancers, and their families and teachers, speak candidly about the sacrifices that they have made to pursue ballet. The expenses incurred, the “normal” parts of childhood that they have missed, the pain that is endured in the pursuit of perfection…

One of the dancers, though quite young when she appeared in the film, blew me away. She had such a presence and I knew that if she managed to escape serious injury and did not burn out, she had the potential to grow into a major presence in the ballet world.

Miko Fogarty is still competing internationally, and is continuing to do amazing things! This video of her is a few years old, but I love the Black Swan variation, and she dances it beautifully!

I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

