Maybe it’s because I grew up watching British Mysteries, or maybe it’s because prior to being a writer, I was a hardcore science geek, or maybe it falls under the same category as diagnosing other people over the course of a conversation, but I love procedurals. Sometimes I even guess what’s going to happen. Actually, I am chronically terrible about figuring things out as they unravel instead of enjoying the show. I can watch police procedurals and medical procedurals over and over and not get sick of the formula for a procedural show, or get sick of the shows themselves.

I love House, M.D., The X-Files (which I suppose at its heart is a procedural), Law & Orders Criminal Intent and Special Victims Unit, NCIS, Bones, Rizzoli & Isles… I like watching shows that do science, and I like watching shows use psychology to find out what makes people do the things they do.

I also love satires and spoofs.

I started watching NTSF:SD:SUV:: in the fall when I was watching Voyager. It’s a shorts series that aired on Adult Swim on Cartoon Network, and it’s a satire of the police procedural drama, which sounded like something that I would love. And I do. It’s so ridiculous sometimes, but one of the things that I love most about this show is the content warnings that go before each episode. I am in season 2 currently, and the warning for the episode I am watching said that this episode was an adaptation or a reenactment of The Importance of Being Earnest. Love.

Because the episodes are short, you could marathon an entire season in much less time than you could watch part of a season of an hour-long show, meaning that if you are home sick, you could easily finish a whole season and start on another.

I have bought episodes on both iTunes and Amazon, and to my knowledge NTSF:SD:SUV:: isn’t on Netflix, but House, Law & Order, and Bones are. I am not sure about Rizzoli & Isles or NCIS.

