I’ve had an incredibly sensitive stomach for about 10 years now, due to years and years of undiagnosed celiac, acid reflux, and then treatment. For years, I’ve tried to have a lot of smoothies when the weather gets super hot and humid, because that’s when I tend to be most nauseated. I’ve tried lots of different brands, and most recently, I’ve had to make sure that they’re all gluten free. I’ve had SunWarrior, PlantFusion, Phood, Shakeology, and probably others that I don’t even remember, too.

I love Shakeology, but it is expensive, so I drink PlantFusion and Phood much more regularly, and Phood is one of my new obsessions. I recently bought a 2 lb tub of Phood after drinking a few samples, and I bought a blender bottle (which I’ve coveted for some time) and I loved it so much that I went back and bought a second bottle!

I need to have a substantial breakfast, otherwise I’m off all day, but I can’t eat solid food without a ton of nausea early in the morning, and on nannying days, I’m up at 5:20 and at work at 6:20, but shakes and smoothies do the trick! A Phood shake (I use chocolate nut milk to make it even richer) will keep me full for a few hours easily, and generally does so without too much nausea, or no more nausea than I would have if I didn’t have a shake. It’s my new go-to, and the dense nutrients of a high quality protein powder like Phood or Shakeology means that I have a lot of energy because my body is getting what it needs and it doesn’t have to do a whole lot of digesting.

One of the other “side effects” of having been sick is that I have something called Raynaud’s Phenomenon. My feet and hands have compromised circulation, and get cold, numb, discolored, and swollen. Because my feet are almost always freezing, my UGG boots have been a Godsend this year. I bought my first pair in September, after wearing last year’s well-worn boots into the summer, because I had pain so bad in my toes and feet that I put all of my warm-weather shoes away. I knew that if I was wearing my old boots in August, I would need especially warm boots for the winter, and I’ve warn my UGGs nearly every day since then.

I’m sure I look like quite a picture in my sweats and spoonie-friendly clothes, with UGG boots and a blender bottle, but the older I get, the more comfortable I am with just letting things be and letting it all be out there. At the end of the day, you have to do what you have to do.

