In last week’s Lazy Saturday post, I wrote about procedurals that I loved, and somehow–likely due to the fact that I still haven’t forgiven the network for canceling it and so I block it out so as not to feel the hurt–I completely neglected to mention Body Of Proof.

My grandfather and I independently started watching Body Of Proof, and when we saw them a few years back, he started raving about this show he’d seen, and that we should watch it because we would like it. Way ahead of you, Grandpa 😉

One of the things that appealed to me about Body Of Proof is that it is a procedural show, but the science is more important than the catching or trying of the “bad guy.” The medical science involved is fascinating, and each character has a clear story arc, which is a ball that can easily be dropped. The overarching storyline and the overarching drama of the show really captivated me, and I felt like if they were given a few more seasons, they would have done something really incredible with the backstories and different redemptions of the characters.

The episodes of Body of Proof were mostly standalone, though it’s best to watch all of the episodes in order so that you understand why the characters react the way that they do. I can think of one multi-episode arc off the top of my head, and it was incredible, and it is a story that has been playing out in the news now, 3 years after that episode arc aired.

Body of Proof aired its last in 2013, but it starred Dana Delaney and Jeri Ryan as a brilliant surgeon turned Medical Examiner and as the Director, respectively. My confession here is that I have no idea where you could watch it, because I bought the 3 seasons off of iTunes when I was watching it for the first time, but I’d imagine that between Netflix, Amazon, and Hulu, you could find episodes for free.

