Every time I rewatch Mean Girls, I fall in love with it again. For a very long time, my family worked Mean Girls quotes into every. single. conversation we had. It’s been a long time (for me) since I’ve seen it, but it’s a movie that maintains its wonderment each time I view it.

The dialogue is hilarious.

I also love that the parents are kooky and eccentric, and that they came from the fields of Africa to the middle of the country. It’s such a culture shock experience, and the set up is just wonderful. And the Africa references make me love it even more.

I love that Cady begins as an unapologetically intelligent, albeit very naive person. She is taking advanced calculus class, a class meant for seniors, and she is not a senior. She wears a bracelet that her mom made her, and is presentable, but not overly dressed up for school, and wearing very little makeup. When Halloween rolls around, she dresses up in an incredible costume while other girls show up wearing very little clothing and animal ears.

All this makes the transition even better.

Then, by the end of the movie, Cady has redeemed and re-humanized herself.

I love this movie.

Mean Girls is available to stream on Netflix.

